Build a Computerized Android Robot Head for $600

Started by Darren Dirt, April 26, 2005, 03:40:16 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Darren Dirt

"How to Build a Computerized Android Robot Head for $600"

Reminds me of that other thread on here showing the 30-foot-tall Transformer-like robot.

Or sorry, I mean robut.

http://howtoandroid.com/HowToBuildRobotHead.html

Strive for progress. Not perfection.

Mr. Analog

It's only cool if it can become "interactive" with some of the sites I visit late at night...

:o

(j/k)  :lol:  
By Grabthar's Hammer

Shayne

Quote from: "Mr. Analog"(j/k)  :lol:
ya....right  :unsure:  :unsure:  :unsure:  :unsure:  :unsure:  :unsure:  :unsure:  

Darren Dirt

Quote from: "Mr. Analog"It's only cool if it can become "interactive" with some of the sites I visit late at night...

:o

(j/k)  :lol:
whatavisionary:
Quote"I've been working with computers since 1986 doing software development, system building, System Administration and performance tuning. After 13 years in computing, I've concluded that the keyboard/mouse/screen combination is not the ideal computer for all tasks. My vision of an ideal computer for certain tasks is one that looks more inviting, such as a physical head/face/eyes combination with spatial, social and temporal awareness. Conversation, eye-contact, and gestures replace the keybd and mouse, which are relegated to fall-back. In this vision of an Ideal Computer a user has a stimulating conversation with a physical android robot head. The robot uses audio, gestures and may even show pictures on a screen to convey information. Towards that end, I've prototyped Robot Maxamilian to study and experiment with this idea.

I like the scenarios at the end (and expanded on their own page).

There's lotsa morea info linked froma his homea pagea, for eample the impressive "M1" programming algorithm ideas, and a 1.8mb mpeg (the AVI is a more compatible format) showing RMax In Motion, a brief vision etc.