human readable password generator

Started by Lazybones, November 30, 2005, 11:59:37 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Lazybones

We employ a strong password policy at my office and as a sysadmin I need to create new passwords often. The funny thing is that the rules require so many things that I often have trouble coming up with good passwords for things without resorting to variations on combinations that I know work.

There is a password generator for PalmSO that creates human readable passwords. I was wondering if anyone knows of one for windows.

Need to be able to configure it for the following rules

9 characters or greater

must contain letters, numbers and symbols or case variation

The palmOS tool trys to creat a password that looks a little like leat speak but the words are nonsence as well.

Might have to write one my self.

Thorin

Quote from: "Lazybones"9 characters or greater

I hate that particular rule :P  I have some good passwords that are easy for me to remember yet hard to guess, but they're only eight characters long...
Prayin' for a 20!

gcc thorin.c -pedantic -o Thorin
compile successful

Lazybones

Quote from: "Thorin"
Quote from: "Lazybones"9 characters or greater

I hate that particular rule :P  I have some good passwords that are easy for me to remember yet hard to guess, but they're only eight characters long...

Most of my easier to remember ones are 7. But can't use those here.

Cova

I've got a few quite strong 6 and 7 character long passwords I use quite often.  The ones that really bug me are places that don't allow symbols and such in passwords.

As for a generator tool, I wrote one a few years back that we use here at NAIT for making all kinds of passwords.  It uses mixed case, numbers, and symbols, and generates a password of any length (it prompts you, defaults to 10 chars).  But its completly random, it doesn't try to make it readable or familiar looking at all.  If you want it, I'll post the code up somewhere.

Lazybones