New Programming Jargon - thanks to Stack Overflow and Coding Horror...

Started by Mr. Analog, April 04, 2017, 12:58:33 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Mr. Analog

QuoteStack Overflow ? like most online communities I've studied ? naturally trends toward increased strictness over time. It's primarily a defense mechanism, an immune system of the sort a child develops after first entering school or daycare and being exposed to the wide, wide world of everyday sneezes and coughs with the occasional meningitis outbreak. It isn't always a pleasant process, but it is, unfortunately, a necessary one if you want to survive.

https://blog.codinghorror.com/new-programming-jargon/

To get you started:

Quote1. Yoda Conditions

Using if(constant == variable) instead of if(variable == constant), like if(4 == foo). Because it's like saying "if blue is the sky" or "if tall is the man".

Ahhhh good stuff....
By Grabthar's Hammer

Thorin

As a coder I understand the reasoning behind Yoda Conditions (reduces chance you forget an equals sign and cause a bug where the variable is assigned the value rather than compared to the value).  Years poring over code in maintenance, though, has shown me just how horrible this is to read; it never flows nicely and I'm always tripping up over it.  At the same time, my brain is quite good at quickly spotting a missing equals sign.
Prayin' for a 20!

gcc thorin.c -pedantic -o Thorin
compile successful

Lazybones

I always read if( x == y) as "if x and y are the same". No yoda phrasing needed.

Darren Dirt

Quote from: Mr. Analog on April 04, 2017, 12:58:33 PM
Stack Overflow ? like most online communities I've studied ? naturally trends toward increased strictness over time.

Oh crap, I "caused" this thread didn't I?

Quote from: Mr. Analog on April 04, 2017, 12:58:33 PM
To get you started:

Quote1. Yoda Conditions