Wii First impressions

Started by Lazybones, November 21, 2006, 11:57:06 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Lazybones

Well I have had a few hours to play now and here is what I learned.

1. The Wiimotes ARE sensitive to other IR sources, this includes the bright light fixtures above my TV.. Turning them off as well as tweaking the sensitivity seemed to help.
2. The control is very responsive but also not very reliable... I have done some tuning and it seems better now, but I was finding Wii sports a little inconsistent for control. Zelda however was very smooth.
3. WiFi is fairly easy to setup and even supports up to WPA 2 encryption.
4. There are more than one slow downloading update to install..Good thing I started playing with the online stuff last.
5. Each unit has a unique address number, you can share these with your friends so they can find you online.. I might start a thread in a more private forum, or just PM my address later.
6. I rather enjoy the zelda control, mainly because it reduces the number of buttons I need to press.
7. Fishing is sort of fun, and I haven't even gotten to the real fishing game yet.
8. Zelda's graphic show that it was a GameCube title to begin with... Although it has a style that works for it, and it flows nicely.

Mr. Analog

By Grabthar's Hammer

Shayne

1.  How far from the TV were you?
2.  Does the wrist flicking work or did you actually have to do full motion?

TheDruid

Do you need to setup extra sensors for the control to work *remembers the power glove and the ridiculous sensor setup that sat on the TV*

Since its IR im assuming you need line of sight to the consol for the control to work?
I only drink the blood of my enemies, and on occasion a strawberry smoothie.

Lazybones

Quote from: Shayne on November 22, 2006, 08:51:45 AM
1.  How far from the TV were you?
2.  Does the wrist flicking work or did you actually have to do full motion?