Excellent XKCD (and crappy code)

Started by Thorin, April 17, 2015, 01:56:20 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Thorin

Today's XKCD is about homegrown, ugly code:

source: http://xkcd.com/1513/

I'd just like to say, this doesn't only happen to people who are self-taught...
Prayin' for a 20!

gcc thorin.c -pedantic -o Thorin
compile successful

Mr. Analog

What's the difference between this:

if (blah) {
//Do amazing thing
}

and this

if (blah)
{
//Do amazing thing
}

...right... and yet there have been endless wars raging since the dawn of time about code style.

In my world: Ctrl+K,Ctrl+D

This is one of the low-grab XKCDs, if this isn't about petty formatting it's about developer dick waving "you did this ALL wrong". That said we've all had those "WTF was this developer doing this is all backward" moments, what would have been funnier is if the dev in the comic discovered it was their own code from 2 years ago :lol:
By Grabthar's Hammer

Thorin

how about the difference between

if (varA) Response.Write(varB ?? false ? "Yes"
                      : "<br />not in a million years");

and

if (checkForLastManAlive)
{
    if (willNotSleepWithYou == null || willNotSleepWithYou == false)
    {
        Response.Write("Yes");
    }
    else
    {
        Response.Write("<br />Not in a million years");
    }
}

Now which of those is easier to understand?  And that's just a simple example of the type of messed-up, hard to read code I've seen in my years.  It's one of the downsides for working at small development shops where the number of developers spanned between two and four, and at shops where they hired an outside company whose developers were more interested in creating a custom web server than actually creating an application...
Prayin' for a 20!

compile successful

Mr. Analog

TBH both were readable, one was better though for sure