I'm A Programmer, Not A Computer Guy

Started by Lazybones, January 16, 2006, 01:03:43 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Lazybones

http://blogcritics.org/archives/2006/01/13/213613.php

QuoteA gentle warning to young or up-and-coming IT professionals: keep your professional identity a secret! Guard your privacy like a superhero, because before you can say "what do you mean reboot?", you'll be the neighborhood troubleshooter, constantly on call to save the day.

QuoteIt astounds me how few consumers seem to realize that Microsoft is not the only game in town. Moreover, it astounds me that it is, for all practical purposes, impossible to tell most consumers that there is another game. As a sports discussion, it would go something like this:

"Did you watch the Raiders game?"

"No, I don't follow football ------"

"What do you think of the new quarterback?"

"Really, football's not my thing. I don't know."

"I thought that you said that you're a sports fan?"

"No, I said that I watched tennis."

"Right, so what did you think of the penalty called in the Raiders game?"

"I watch tennis."

"Why would they call a penalty like that?"

Um.

What is a poor programmer to do? I'd consider taking the time to learn more about the machines if I didn't distrust them so deeply.

Good read... I am a computer guy, but I am getting bitter..  :wink:

Mr. Analog

By Grabthar's Hammer

Shayne

Im am rather amazed at how few computer people dont watch sports.  I find it hard to talk about the NFL playoffs here..most are like "So, i was on a WoW RAID...."

Lazybones

Thorin

Quote from: "Shayne"Im am rather amazed at how few computer people dont watch sports.  I find it hard to talk about the NFL playoffs here..most are like "So, i was on a WoW RAID...."